top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatie Conover

who is katie

since I was a little girl, all I've done is talk talk talk. I was made fun of every day for how much I talk: "you talk too much" "take a breath" "do you ever stop talking."


so I figured I'd share my words with the world rather than cowering into a shell of insecurity, like I initially told myself that I should.


I guess my goal with this entire blog is to share my life experiences, the lessons I learn, and the mindset shifts I make to help myself move forward. hopefully through this, something might stick out to you and help you, too. really, that's the whole point of all of this. what's the point in learning, growing, and becoming better if I'm not sharing it with others in hopes that they can learn, grow, and be better with me?


we'll start this first blog with a little bit about me: hey, I'm Katie! I am a lost 22 year old with absolutely no clue what I want to do with my life other than get married and be a momma. I know some of you are probably reading this and thinking "absolutely not I can't even think about kids right now," and I get that, but stick with me. we may not have the same life goals, but it doesn't mean the lessons and values can't be universal.


here's how I got to this lost 22 year old state:

in high school, I thought I had it all planned out. I knew exactly what I was going to do, the life I was going to lead, and who was going to be apart of it. boy was I wrong LOL. I wanted to be an elementary school teacher, so I applied to a few colleges and decided on CSU Northridge. I refused to live in the dorms because I thought I knew better than everyone around me that was giving me advice. I got an apartment by myself, which was my first mistake. shortly after I moved to Northridge, I fell into a deep depression and found myself self sabotaging every good thing that was happening to me. I stopped showing up for work, wasn't going to my classes, refused to do my homework; before I knew it I had straight Fs and a depression that I never knew existed. luckily, I had a huge support system, so when I came home to tell my mom I was dropping out, she welcomed me with half open arms. she was definitely disappointed and heavily concerned for my future (understandable considering my brother went to UCLA and majored in civil engineering like the genius he is).


I spent a couple months bouncing from job to job, but I was mostly focused on my boyfriend and hanging out with him as much as I could, like a young 18 year old would. once I snapped back into reality, I signed up for classes at my local community college; completely switched my major and career path. I have to give credit to my parents for this bounce back out of my depression and self sabotage. it wasn't a life lesson or mindset switch that got me out of that time period; just an internal guilt that reminded me how bad I didn't want to disappoint my parents.


so I started school again and started looking for opportunities. I nailed an internship with a social media marketing agency and gained experience planning social media feeds and using KPI analysis for a variety of brands. then I reached out to my local skate shop and started taking photos and running their social media for them. I started to find this passion for social media and growing businesses through this online space. in my head, I was like "heck yeah let's do this for a career, but wait I really like journalism and I think it'd be cool to be a news caster, but also how cool would it be to be a celebrities publicist or even personal assistant, but I also love kids so should I just stick to teaching?" if that hurt your brain, think about how much it was hurting my brain back then. I decided to major in communication studies, fly with the wind, and see what career path it would lead me to.


even though I didn't have it all figured out (still don't), I was willing to take action and just go for it. sometimes we become so paralyzed in our thoughts and stress that we refuse to take a step forward. but taking steps forward is the only way to figure it out, learn, and grow.I live by the phrase "messy action is better than no action" and I guess that's what I'm doing here with this blog.I don't know what the goal is or what I'm hoping to gain out of this, but I'm just taking a step forward and doing it anyways.


the point of this blog post is that if you're feeling paralyzed in the overwhelm of your thoughts, ideas, and dreams, just take one step forward.even if it's a baby step, just do it. go for it. you have NOTHING to lose. want to start a business? design your business card. want to start working out? go for a walk today. want to go back to school? start the application. want to do real estate? look up how to start the process.


you can do this. your life is meant to be bigger than remaining in the same place because of your fear of failing or the paralyzation of mental overwhelm. that's lesson number one. messy action is better than no action. just go for it and do it! take the first step and do it for YOU.

26 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page